Project Moving On & Moving Up!

Standard

Yesterday I gave you a peek into my busy life and teased you with the promise of our big family goal. Well here it is…

We are going to sell our house and buy a new one in a different neighborhood.

My husband and I loved our house from the second we walked in. Yes, it fit our family, but more importantly it felt like us. We’ve even put in some serious work to make us love it more. Our home is over 100 years old and I believe it’s called an American four square style. I have 3 bedrooms, a partially finished basement and two bathrooms (rare for this neighborhood). Why give it up, right?

Our Home

To understand the answer you need to know a little back ground. We bought our
house on contract in 2010. In August of 2011 I was in an auto accident that
shattered my ankle. I walk okay now, but it was a long, slow recovery with
complications and set backs. There are a lot of stairs in my house. This meant I
spent three months sleeping in my living room and other wise living in my living
room. Then when I was able to finally get up my stairs and trade the walker for
a cane, we got pregnant with our little princess baby. I no longer need the cane
but we’ve out grown this house and the stairs are not my friend.

Now our contract is up and we either need to buy our house with a traditional mortgage or sell it and move on. I’ve started phase one of the goal, prepping the house. As promised yesterday, I’ve made a list.
  • Purge the house
  • Deep clean the house
  • Finish any DIY projects
  • Stage the house
This doesn’t sound like much but this has to happen in the living room, dining room, screened in porch, 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, the attic and the basement. Did I mention I live in a house full of pack rats? I bet that list looks a lot more foreboding. But I’m an optimist. I’ve set my self a deadline of April 1. I know this is sounds like a joke, but I’m not fooling around. I’ll keep you posted on the list and it’s progress. Fingers crossed we’ll make it!
Leave a Reply

