Dreaming of a Good Book? Week 1

Standard

Let’s have some fun today and while we’re at it, the whole weekend!  I’m a bookworm and proud of it. It more than likely led me to my dream of being a writer. Like any avid reader I have a preference in Genre. More often than not, you can find me hiding behind a paranormal romance or urban fantasy and I prefer series. I’ve also been known to take in a good mystery from time to time. Since I read for my sanity sake, I thought I’d indulge myself by sharing that with you, kind readers, in a regular Friday feature. While I am doing the 31 day challenge, I thought I might stick loosely with my theme. All the books I recommend to you this month will have something to do with dreaming!

Wake (Dream Catcher, #1)Fade (Dream Catcher, #2)Gone (Dream Catcher, #3)

To kick us off, I’d like to recommend a Young Adult series, The Dream Catcher Series by Lisa McMann. I  read this series back in 2010 because our than 11 year old daughter wanted to read it and I decided I’d see just how age appropriate it was. Good thing I did, because I can tell you, she was too young for these. She recently reminded me about them and asked now that she is 14 and a high school freshman, can she read them. This time I was happy to tell her to go for it! This trilogy includes Wake, Fade and Gone. They follow high school student Janie and her friend and later boyfriend Cabel as she copes with her ability to fall into the dreams of those who fall asleep around her. As she progresses through the series, she learns to use this ability to her advantage. I know that I enjoyed this series and every time I finished one book I couldn’t wait for the next one. All 3 books have a 4 out of 5 star rating on Goodreads.com.

The Dream Hunter (Dream-Hunter, #1; Dark-Hunter, #11)

If that’s not your cup of tea, you might try the Paranormal Romances that I plan to read this weekend, Dream Hunter by Sherrilyn Kenyon. Sherrilyn Kenyon is a big name in Paranormal Romance, and has quiet the catalog of books to her credit. I’ve actually never read her work and I am looking forward to giving her a shot. Dream Hunter is the 1st in the Dream Hunter Series but the 11th in her Dark Hunter Series. It has a 4 out of 5 star rating on Goodreads.com so I have high hopes for this one as well.

Have you read any dream related books lately? Anything you’d like to recommend? Leave a comment and fill us all in. If you’re new to this blog, welcome! If you checked me out from my link on the Nesting Place, I really appreciate your visit! Please comment, I would love the feedback.

Happy reading everyone!

Cover art copied and pasted from Goodreads.com. All opinions on these books are my own.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Dreaming of a Good Book? Week 2 | Dabbling in Day Dreams

  2. Pingback: Dreaming of a Good Book? Week 3 | Dabbling in Day Dreams

  3. Pingback: Dreaming of a Good Book? Week 4 | Dabbling in Day Dreams

Leave a Reply

