Visualizing the Dream – A Place to Start

Standard

Once you’ve made up your mind to start following your dreams, it can be tough to find a place to start. I know that it was for me, but I had 3 months to lay on my sofa with my ankle elevated to figure it out. I’m not one for self-help, motivational type reading, but I found my place to start with The Secret  by Rhonda Byrne. Let me save you some time. I didn’t read it. I watched it on Netflix. I was scanning the documentary section for something interesting and there it was. I’d certainly heard of it and I was curious. Since I wasn’t going anywhere I gave it a shot.

What I took from it was this, visualize what you want every day. For me I wrote it out in my journal. Not just that I wanted to be a writer but what my goals were for the dream and the steps I saw myself taking to get there. I also spend a little time every day visualizing what my life will be like when my dreams finally happen. Be consistent with this. Then move on the opportunities when they come your way. The other great thing I took from it was gratitude. I start my journal entry by write a list of things I’m grateful for that day. Simple right?

What it did for me was create an attitude shift. I was suddenly optimistic about my future and that I could make my dreams come true. It helped me get past the fear of starting and kept me on course. Have you started working towards your dreams? How did you start? Have you ever tried visualization for yourself?

If you’re new to this blog, welcome! If you checked me out from my link on the Nesting Place, I really appreciate your visit! Please comment, I would love the feedback.

Leave a Reply

