Making Room for Me in the Dream

Standard

My husband and I recently took on a big dream, buying a house. I’ve discussed it before on this blog and I’ll discuss it in more detail another day. The important thing to know about it today, is that the house took over my life. It was our dream for our family and I attacked it with a single-mindedness that was scary. As a result of that tunnel vision I’ve let something’s go that mattered to me. No more. I am taking back my life! I’ll still obsess about my house. We do have big plans for it. But I am making room for other things.

On the agenda:

  • Read a book!! This is big for me. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, they are my mental time out. I need them like I need air. I’m currently on the hunt for my next reading adventure and I’ll let you know what I decide to indulge in, hopefully every Friday.
  • Getting Healthy! Along with the long hours came some very unhealthy eating habits and a sedentary life style. I am now the largest size I’ve ever been and I don’t like it. I don’t know how much I weigh right now and I don’t want to know. I will admit, I have allowed myself to get up to a size 24 in plus size. When you compound that with the fact that I am only 5’3” it’s pretty bad. It’s also not helping my bad ankle, making it painful to walk, which then makes me less active and I gain more weight…It’s a vicious cycle. I don’t care about the number though. I want to feel better and I want to feel like I can keep up with my kids.
  • Projects! I miss them. I love painting a room in my house or sanding down a dresser and giving it a new life. Since we moved out of the old house I haven’t gotten to really do this. Now in the new house I want to wallow in the opportunity. I almost didn’t know where to start. Never fear, I figured it out and I’ll be showing you some of that in upcoming posts.
  • Writing, It’s my passion and yet I’ve done surprisingly little of it lately. I mean to make that change. That means more frequent blog posts, random essays when the mood so strikes me (it already has), and long overdue time on my novel rewrite.

I’m looking at it this way, we made one dream happen. If we can do that, then I can make more happen. Dreams are not just about significant things, they can be as simple as how you live your day-to-day life. I’m ready for the journey. Dreams are wonderful and worth the effort. Just try to remember to make room for a balanced life. That way when the dust settles and you concur the mountain that is your dream, you’ll still have the folks that matter to celebrate it with!

If you’re new to this blog, welcome! If you checked me out from my link on the Nesting Place, I really appreciate your visit! Please comment, I would love the feedback.

Leave a Reply

