Making a Dream Happen – Editing My First Novel

Standard

I posted A Novel Idea back in February, about how I finally found the courage to push through and write that 1st Novel. I also said in that post that I was going to get in gear on editing it for the next draft. Confession time; I still haven’t edited it.

In my defense, we moved twice in a 4 month period and I worked 65 hour weeks through the summer. I know, I know…here I am suggesting others should follow their dreams and I didn’t follow through. Well I found some motivation folks! I joined a writer’s group. The Noble Pen meets in my home town on a weekly basis and they have an open invitation to the group. Starting in November I am pushing myself to submit 6,000 words of my 2nd draft, every other week (or as close to it as I can) until I finish that draft. My hope is that having a deadline (voluntarily) handed out by a group of people who are expecting to review my work, will be just the drive I need.

This blog challenge, so far has taught me that I do have the discipline to sit down and write something every day, and it’s only 9 days in. If I can do that, I can deliver work to a group of people for feedback. I’ve only ever shown my novel to one person. She says great things about it and as she is a writer as well. I trust her to tell me the truth without any sugar-coating. Putting my work in front of a group of strangers for the first time, that’s a new level of stress for me. One I am looking forward to, because I know it will put me another step closer to my dream of being published!

If you’re new to this blog, welcome! If you checked me out from my link on the Nesting Place, I really appreciate your visit! Please comment, I would love the feedback.

Leave a Reply

