Dreaming Up Goals

Standard

You might think that having the realization that I need to chase my dreams, would be enough to keep me on that path. It was certainly enough to push me into action. Life, however, is full of distractions. My kids needed my attention, the bills needed to be paid, and house work needed to be done. What I needed was something to bring my focus back after I took care of the responsibilities of life. I needed goals.

When I wrote the first draft of my novel I had 2 goals. Finish writing a novel before I’m 30. Then when I realized I had 3 months off to recover from my accident, I wanted to finish it before I went back to work. It’s not like I could run away from my laptop, since I couldn’t walk. That was all I needed to get it done. Two year letter my novel is sitting on a shelf. I need to set new goals and I don’t want another accident to make me get things done.

Yesterday, I shared that I plan to begin submitting my 2nd draft to the writers group I joined, for critique. I have 2 new goals to carry me through to the next phase of this dream. The first goal is to have the 2nd draft finished before I turn 32 at the end of March. That gives me a bit of a buffer but would require me to submit 6000 words twice a month. The second new goal is to have the final draft and query letter ready for submissions by June 1st. That way I can spend my summer submitting for publication while I’m writing a new first draft, because there will be more. They’ve been percolating in my brain for the last 2 years. It also keeps me from shelving the 2nd draft for 2 more years.

For clarification, writing isn’t my only dream. I’ve said it before but I feel that it bears repeating. Unintentionally, my dream of being a writer has hijacked my blog. In the spirit of keeping it real, I have other dreams with goals and deadlines attached. Just for variety, I’ll share those with you Saturday. Tomorrow, come back and we’ll talk about more weekend reading recommendations!

If you’re new to this blog, welcome! If you checked me out from my link on the Nesting Place, I really appreciate your visit! Please comment, I would love the feedback.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Dreams in Progress | Dabbling in Day Dreams

Leave a Reply

