2012 Dreaming of Ghostdogs and Dolls!

Standard

I don’t have a brilliant how too for any of these costumes you are about to see. Just a mom with a creative use of materials. This isn’t a detailed post because I am still hard at work making costumes. Harper’s costume is all done and just big brother left.

In 2012 Mycah’s favorite movie was Nightmare Before Christmas. On one shopping trip to Target he found a Halloween dog collar that he had to have and an idea was born. Since I don’t have any in progress, photos I’ll give you the material run down. I bought white foam for the floppy dog ears, a white hooded sweat shirt, a white sheet and a giant white pipe cleaner (yes they sell such a thing at Michael’s and it makes a great dog tail).

Zero the Ghost Dog certainly was unique at the preschool costume parade!

DSCN0179 DSCN0209

DSCN0194

Our older girls wanted something entirely different. Here is where I broke down and just bought costumes. The decided to be Monster High Dolls. Kira who was 10 at the time got the full store-bought costume as Draculaura. Stormi and Raven are a different matter, they wear adult sizes at 13 and 14 so they got store-bought wigs and that was it. For Stormi who was Clawdean the werewolf she was happy and didn’t want anything else. Raven however was a challenge. She was Operetta (daughter of the Phantom of the Opera). We searched her everyday clothes until we came up with a reasonable outfit, but the mask, I made that using a plain white mask, craft paint and silver glitter craft foam.

DSCN0235DSCN0236DSCN0233

I think we came out pretty good! The Harper was only  4 months old, to small for trick or treating but I thought she made a great little witch. You can’t see it in the picture but she even has striped leggings and ruby-red shoes! OK I know this post wasn’t the greatest. But it was a fun look back. I’m still knee-deep in costume making. So back to work I go!

DSCN0218DSCN0225

So thanks for hanging in there. Tomorrow’s the reveal of this year’s costumes for Mycah and Harper! If you’re new to this blog, welcome! If you checked me out from my link on the Nesting Place, I really appreciate your visit! Please comment, I would love the feedback.

Leave a Reply

