Halloween Dreams

Standard

I am so excited for this Halloween! Last year Harper was only 4 months old so it was kind of low-key. For me the best part of Halloween is making it special for my kids. I love dreaming up and making their costumes. No, I don’t sew, but I’m pretty handy with a hot glue gun. There has been some great ones through the years.

  • 2012 Mycah was the ghost dog, Zero, from Nightmare Before Christmas.
  • 2011 Mycah was a robot. I spent hours spray gluing tinfoil to a box that he wore over his winter coat, It had dials and everything!
  • 2010 The kids dressed in a theme. Mycah was the Cheshire cat, Kira was the Queen of Hearts, Raven was the Mad Hatter and Stormi was the white rabbit. Two of the 3 kids placed in the church costume contest that year. I was proud.

Each year I made or embellished their costumes to make it special. This year I am so exited to make costumes for Harper and Mycah. I’ve been dreaming up ideas all year, but Mycah needed to get on board. At five, he’s got his own ideas, in fact until last week he was telling me he wanted to be a zombie. Then as we were looking at pictures for ideas he declared he wanted nothing to do with face paint so he wasn’t going to be a zombie.  I saw my chance and I took it. I started showing him pictures of little red riding hood and the big bad wolf. He’s game!

So here’s the plan to finish out the week of the 31 day challenge. Everyday leading up to Halloween I’ll share photos of the costumes the kids and I dreamed up and Thursday we’ll reveal the finished costumes for 2013! What costumes are you dreaming up? I’d love to hear it!

If you’re new to this blog, welcome! If you checked me out from my link on the Nesting Place, I really appreciate your visit! Please comment, I would love the feedback.

Leave a comment